Voting in Narayanganj City Corporation polls Today

Voting in Narayanganj City Corporation polls Today

Campaign is over, final battle of voting in Narayaganj City Corporation (NCC) will start on Thursday morning, first ever elections in the city corporation with the party symbols.


The voting will start from 8:00am Today and will continue till 4pm without any break, returning officer M Nuruzzaman Talukdar said.


All electoral materials have already been sent to the respective voting centers in City Corporation, he added.


A total of 195 candidates are contesting for 37 posts. Of them, seven are contesting for the mayoral post and 156 are contesting in 27 wards while 38 are contesting for nine women reserved seats.


A total of 4, 74,931 voters is expected to cast their ballots under 174 poling centers. Of them, 2, 41, 514 are male and 2, 37,878 are female voters.


According to the Election Commission officials, all necessary measures have been taken to hold the polls in a free, fair and peaceful manner.


Law enforcers have been asked to ensure the highest level of security during the polls as voters could move freely during the election hours.


Director of EC secretariat SM Asaduzzaman said that 8,000 law enforcing members being deployed in Narayanganj city corporation areas to ensure peaceful election while 27 executive magistrates will be on special duties during the election.


Besides, nine magistrates will work with mobile and striking force involved maintaining law and orders while 14 judicial magistrates will work at instant summary trials for election crimes.


All the mobile and striking forces including police, APBN, ANSAR, RAB, Coast Guard and BGB will continue their work till December 23.


During the election, 174 presiding officers, 1,304 assistant presiding officers and 2,608 poling officers will perform duties.