Kings retain BPL title

Kings retain BPL title

Defending champions Bashundhara Kings retained their Bangladesh Premier League title after they defeated Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited by 2-0 goals in their 20th match of the league at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Monday.

Brazilian duo Robson Azevedo da Silva Robinho and Jonathan da Silveira Fernandes Reis scored one each in the 21st and 62nd minutes respectively to confirm their title with four matches to spare.

With the day’s victory, the big-budgeted club earned 55 points from 20 matches, which helped them to take a 16-point lead over their nearest opponents Sheikh Jamal DC, who earned 39 points from 19 matches.

“We have been working hard for the title for the last 11 months. Today we have achieved it. The title was important for us. We will be eyeing to win the title for the third time next season,” Kings captain Topu Barman said after the win.

Kings made a dominating start against Sheikh Jamal on Monday and in the 21st minute, Brazilian forward Robson Robinho opened their account with an eye-catching powerful shot from a 25-yard distance from the box, off a pass from his compatriot Jonathan Fernandes.

It was Robinho’s 19th goal in this year’s BPL.

Sheikh Jamal, who sacked their head coach Shafiqul Islam Manik a few hours before the match, got two close chances before half-time but their two Gambian forwards Solomon King Kanform and Sulayman Sillah wasted the opportunities.

Kings continued their domination in the second half and in the 62nd minute, Jonathan Fernandes buried the ball with a right-footer from nearer the box, off a pass from defender Bishwanath Ghosh.

Kings could score another goal in the 82nd minute but their midfielder Emon Mahmud missed the chance as his shot deflected by the upper bar.

Meanwhile, in the day’s other match, midfielder Jewel Rana scored a hat-trick as Dhaka Abahani Limited beat Arambagh Krira Sangha by 6-1 goals at the same venue.

Jewel also became the first local player in the ongoing league to complete a hat-trick

Nigerian forward Sunday Chizoba, midfielders Faisal Ahmed Shitol and Md Sohel Rana scored apiece while Arambagh midfielder Dilshod Nazirov netted the consolation goal.