Bangladesh win by 8 wickets, against Zimbabwe

Bangladesh win by 8 wickets, against Zimbabwe

Opener Naim Sheikh struck a brilliant 51- ball 63 not out as Bangladesh made a winning start to the three-match T20 International series, whacking Zimbabwe past by eight wickets in the first match at Harare Sports Club on Thursday.

The victory was significant, considering that it was Tigers 100th match in this shortest format of the cricket. Bangladesh also registered victory in their first match of the T20 history, beating Zimbabwe by 43 runs.

Bangladesh, who remained unbeaten in the tour so far, winning one-off Test and three-match ODI series, dismissed Zimbabwe for 152 in 19 overs after which they cantered to the victory with seven balls to spare, making 153-2 in 18.5 overs.
Naim who struck six boundaries in his unbeaten 63 off 51, took the side on the verge of the victory, sharing 102 runs in 13.1 overs with Soumya Sarkar.

The partnership basically threw Zimbabwe out of the game. Sarkar hit four fours and two sixes to blast 50 off 45.

Skipper Mahmudullah Riyad made 15 while Nurul Hasan Sohan, who played his first T20 matches after four years, was not out on 16.

Earlier Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat first but couldn’t make a rapid start. Regis Chakabva however rallied the side to a challenging total.

Chakabva was the highest scorer for Zimbabwe with 43 off 22, hitting five fours and two sixes. Dion Myers, who made a debut in this format, scored 35 off 22, that included two fours.

The duo kept Zimbabwe on course of the big total as the hosts amassed 91 runs in 10 overs. However the dismissal of both of them in quick succession stalled their progress.

Opener Wessley Madhvere was the other notable scorer with run-a-ball-23.

Fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman was the most successful bowler for Bangladesh with 3-31 while Mohammad Saifuddin and Shoriful Islam took two wickets apiece.