Papiya, Shirin resign BNP executive committee

Papiya, Shirin resign BNP executive committee

Two female BNP leaders– Syeda Asifa Ashrafi Papiya and Shirin Sultana– have resigned from their respective posts in the newly formed BNP executive committee.


Papiya quit the post of human rights affairs assistant secretary while Shirin quit the post of self-reliance affairs secretary. Papiya has also resigned from the post of Chapainawabganj district BNP general secretary.


Contacted, Shirin said she has sent her resignation letter to party chairperson Khaleda Zia and secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on Monday.


Shirin, also Mohila Dal general secretary, said she resigned from the executive committee as the party constitution has approved ‘one-leader one post policy’. “I want to hold the post of Mohila Dal general secretary showing respect to the party constitution.”


Dhaka University’s Rokeya Hall ex-VP, Shirin is the wife of BNP joint secretary general Khairul Kabir Khokan.


Papiya, a former BNP MP and wife of BNP’s another joint secretary general Harun-or-Rashid, admitted that she has resigned from the party’s executive committee and the post of Chapainawabganj district committee general secretary.


She, however, declined to elaborate.


After the announcement of the BNP’s new committee, different media reported that Papiya got aggrieved as she felt she was not given the post she deserves.


On August 6, BNP announced its 502-member executive and 19-member standing committees, and 73-member chairperson’s advisory council.


Hours after the announcement of the party committees, newly made party vice chairman Mosaddek Ali Falu and assistant publicity affairs secretary Shamimur Rahman Shamim quit their respective posts.


Later, new executive committee member and ex-Magura MP Quazi Salimul Haq Kamal, popularly known as Econo Kamal, also resigned from his post protesting against what he said accommodating controversial leaders in the party’s standing and executive committees.


BNP Rangpur district unit BNP vice and ex-MP Paritosh Chakrabarti also quit the party out of frustration as he was not made party executive committee member.